Xobni: Cleaning up email


If this product works as advertised, it will help a lot of us. Email has become the unstructured data repository from hell. I read somewhere that up to 80% of corporate data sits in email somewhere. Filing email into folders is fine for some people, but most of us are not that structured, and even if we are that structured, it’s not always clear where an email should be kept for reference sake.

Xobni is trying to help change this. Check it out by clicking the badge below (or this link), and let me know what you think. I’m going to experiment with it as well.

Xobni outlook add-in for your inbox
Alan

5 responses to “Xobni: Cleaning up email

  1. Pingback: Xobni: Cleaning up email

  2. Also take a look at ClearContext IMS (http://www.clearcontext.com/) – it has helped me a lot. The tools are by and large complementary to Xobni, which I looked forward to trying.

  3. Just waiting for someone to launch a similar tool on the lotus notes mail server

  4. I’ve been using this for a couple months. It is helpful – I use it nearly every day. Interesting it doesn’t do as good a job at searching the entire mailbox as I would like. My favorite mail search is still Lookout, which became part of the Microsoft Desktop Search application.

  5. Xobni is great. It took a while to appreciate its full usefulness, but I have incorporated it into my regular workflow now.

    For instance, I needed an e-mail address today which I knew had been in the CC line on a message way back when. It only took a couple of minutes to sift through the related messages to find the address I needed, even though I couldn’t remember the person’s name.

    The analytics features are also very powerful. A few examples of how you can use them:
    –Determine the responsiveness of an individual or organization you work with.
    –Analyze messages by subject line and response time to see what tends to get the quickest response.
    –Search unique senders to find an e-mail address. You can even sort, filter, and drill down by various characteristics (e.g. recipient type).
    –Analyze your own responsiveness in regards to certain people or projects. This can be useful when deciding what to “prune”.

    It’s true that it doesn’t search every type of Outlook item, so I still find myself turning to MS Desktop Search, though less and less often these days.

    My one complaint would be that it does bog down your Outlook, so you have to be prepared to sacrifice a bit of performance.