I gotta camp out to get me some of that … iPhone camping guide


It’s a phone. It’s really just a phone. But it’s also internet, chat, camera. All of which exist. But this, this is the iPhone.

Here is a site that helps you stake out places to sleep, eat, and, yes, go to the bathroom, in the vicinity of the iPhone release sites.

Wowza. Check out the description of the Cheesecake Factory in Pasadena.

http://gridskipper.com/travel/ultimate-iphone-campout-guide/

4 responses to “I gotta camp out to get me some of that … iPhone camping guide

  1. I’m not so sure about the iPhone, not as a device, but as a product when coupled with phone service etc. Waiting in line overnight to get tickets to a U2 concert I can understand, but for a phone? Hard to justify.

    This article lays the issues out pretty clearly.

    http://tech.yahoo.com/blogs/hughes/14081

    Saeed

  2. Yes, there certainly are some cons with this phone … and it is a first-generation device. I bought the 40GB Apple TV and quickly hit the storage limit … only to find they released a 160GB version a couple of months later.

    I also talked to someone at Nokia … the best critique he could muster was that the iPhone’s battery life was short, but Apple has since fixed that, or so I’ve read.

    Despite all this, doesn’t the hype around this phone say something significant? Certainly there is the hype fest going on here, but to me it also says that people love great design, and few other phones can be accused of great design. If Apple’s first generation design isn’t perfect, take a look at the first gen iPod; it was a sleeper, but it caught on. Apple is becoming the BMW of technology; it’s not about the need for transportation, but it is about the driving experience.

    I’m probably going to buy one just to be an early adopter on this… or maybe I’ll wait for the next release. Quality is Job 1.1?

  3. The $1,975 iPod…

    Gotta agree with Tom Yager on this one…

    http://www.infoworld.com/article/07/07/10/28TCiphone_1.html

    The only winners here IMHO are the people smart enough to buy Apple stock in April 2007.

    http://finance.yahoo.com/q/bc?s=AAPL&t=3m

    Saeed

  4. Pingback: Confessions from the Cambridge Apple Store « On Product Management